Mary Helen Hensley, Author

Coming Soon- Understanding is the New Healing

The Promised Trilogy / Promised by Heaven

On July 4, 2009, Mary Helen launched her book, Promised, a memoir of her life so far, telling the story of her childhood and her conversations with her Granddad – who had passed away a number of years previously – through to college years, the car crash that was to change her life as she knew it, and, her path to becoming a Doctor of Chiropractic.

Mary Helen’s second book, Circles of Light, picks up where her first book left off.  “In Circles of Light I talk about my healing sessions which I’ve been doing for years, and I include the births of my two children, the world of my chiropractic business and about the interventions I have experienced from my two dead grandparents, and the spirit world.”

Mary Helen’s third book, and last in what is known as the ‘Promised Trilogy’, was published in 2012, it is entitled The Land Beyond The River, and initially it was to be called Healing the Healer. “Aside from the fact that this was fairly unimaginative on my part, a series of events took place in the latter part of 2011 that prompted the change. The last five years have provided countless interventions from the Universe that have allowed me to mirror myself, healing fragmented portions of my past. I have made it my business to ‘call back my spirit’ from places long ago, where I left vital pieces of my own essence, through the simple lack of tools necessary to know any better. My sincerest wish is that through highlighting my own misunderstandings and subsequent growth, that some of you may ‘let yourselves off the hook’ and get on with living, free from the most difficult type of judgement known to man; self-judgement. There is nothing more discouraging to the human experience than self-generated persecution.”

Mary Helen’s sixth book, Promised by Heaven, brings the Promised Trilogy  together in one unforgettable book, and was published in September, 2015.

Promised by Heaven

“As the years have gone by and Promised by Heaven has developed into the type of book it is, the biggest thing I can say to people is ‘Let yourself off the hook’, that’s the message behind the book. We didnt come here for perfection, we came here FROM perfection, to take a break and experience life in the human form.”


The Chakra Fairies

The Chakra Fairies is Mary Helen’s fourth book. The book is illustrated by her daughters, Jemma Skye, who was 11 when the book was launched, and Jada, who was 9.

This is a book of empowerment, teaching young children to “clear their baggage” at the end of each day, aided by the beautiful chakra fairies, with a simple, yet effective bed time poem

The Pocket Coach

When  Mary Helen was a child, her father, who was a football coach and Baptist minister, gave her a prayer book written by John Bailey, a Scottish Presbyterian minister.

“There was a prayer on each right hand page, and on the opposite page there were my Dad’s motivational quotes, and he was a great motivational speaker,” said Mary Helen.

Mary Helen’s father, Dick Hensley, died in August 2012. A few months later, Mary Helen started sharing some of his quotes on Facebook, and got a phenomenal response. She decided she would write a book based on her Dad’s motivational quotes.

“I knew people had liked them a lot, so I extracted all Dad’s quotes, and left a blank page for the reader to write their own thoughts and called this new book, The Pocket Coach, so people could easily carry it with them,” she said.

“My Dad was known as ‘Coach’, hence the name of the book, and I checked all the quotes as far as possible, to make sure they were totally authentic, and my Dad’s original quotes.”

The book is illustrated with sports activities such as rugby, Taekwondo, triathlon, swimming, kayaking, cycling, golf, horse-riding, yoga, etc.

To contact Mary Helen, use the following details or fill out the contact form


1 + 15 =